Women's Basketball
News Photo
Women's Basketball - Tue, Mar. 7, 2017

Six players were selected to First Team All-Region XI for Division I Women's Basketball in 2016-17. 


Lade Adepoju-Sophomore-Forward-Iowa Western

Lade Adepoju led a balanced Iowa Western scoring attack, averaging 9.5 points per game. She was seventh in the nation in field goal percentage, shooting 63.1 percent. Adepoju also pulled down a team-high 4.4 rebounds per contest.


Alicia Mountain-Sophomore-Guard-Iowa Western

Alicia Mountain did a little bit of everything for the Reivers this season. Mountain averaged 8.9 points per game, pulled down 3.3 rebounds, and dished out 1.8 assists per contest. Mountain was key to Iowa Western's success this season, leading the team in minutes per game.


Melis Ucar-Sophomore-Guard-Iowa Western

Melis Ucar started every game this season for the Reivers. Ucar averaged 7.6 points per game, 3.8 rebounds, and 1.6 assists in her 31 starts. Ucar was also second on team in steals per game, averaging 1.6 steals per contest.


Maddie Egr-Sophomore-Forward-Northeast

Maddie Egr was the primary scoring option for Northeast this season. She led the team in points per game with 13.6 points on an efficient 61.9 percent from the field. Egr also pulled down 5.4 rebounds per game and dished out 1.5 assists per contest. 


Mykala Baylor-Freshman-Freshman-Northeast

Mykala Baylor made her presence felt in the paint all year, averaging 13.3 points per contest and pulled down a team-high 7.5 rebounds per game. Baylor shot an effective 59.6 percent which was good for 12th in the nation. Baylor was also 13th in the nation in total blocks this season, sending back 65 shots.


Claudia Morente-Freshman-Guard-Marshalltown

As a freshman Morente was a key to Marshalltown's success this season, totaling 927 minutes on the season, which was 14th in the nation. She averaged 9.1 points per game, 3.9 rebounds per game, and 3.6 assists per game. Morente also anchored Marshalltown defensively leading the team in steals and was second on the team in blocks.


Honorable Mention:

  • F Jazza Johns – Freshman, Iowa Western
  • G Azaria Floyd – Freshman, Iowa Western
  • F Estelle Eduardo – Freshman, Marshalltown
  • G Maeva Kitantou – Sophomore, Northeast
  • F Aida Santana – Sophomore, Northeast