News Photo
Baseball - Fri, Jun. 16, 2017

The Major League Baseball draft began Tuesday night in which the Minnesota Twins took high school shortstop Royce Lewis (Calf.). In a draft that spanned over three days, the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference saw four current and five former ball players selected.

Of the four current players, Dan Tillo of Iowa Western Community College was the first off the board from the ICCAC to the Kansas City Royals in the third round (91st overall). A pitcher from Sioux City, Iowa, Tillo was highly touted coming into the season after transferring to Iowa Western from the University of Kentucky. Tillo appeared in 9 games for the Reivers this season finishing with a record of 5-1 and an ERA of 2.86. He struck out 57 batters in 44 innings.

Korry Howell, shortstop for Kirkwood Community College, was selected also selected by the Royals in the 19th round as the 570th overall pick. Howell was a First Team All-Region XI performer in 2017 in Division II. The freshman showed speed on the base paths swiping 43 bases in 53 games, second most in Division II NJCAA. He batted .394 with six homers and 33 RBIs, scoring 68 runs.

Another Iowa Western pitcher, Keaton Winn came off the board shortly after Howell in the 20th round to the San Francisco Giants. Winn, like Tillo, finished the season 5-1 and struck out 56 in 51 innings. Winn is a right handed freshmen from Ollie, Iowa.

The final selection of current ICCAC players was Iowa Central's ace Anderson DeLeon. The Cincinnati Reds took DeLeon with 707th pick of the 2017 MLB Draft. This season, the Brooklyn, N.Y. native threw 58.1 innings and struck out 77 hitters. The top ranked pitcher in Region XI finished 7-2 and threw a complete game victory in the regional tournament and picked up a save in the championship game to give the Tritons the 2017 Region XI crown.

Of the former players, Jake Adams of the University of Iowa and former DMACC Bears slugger went 181st to the Houston Astros. Adams is the all-time home runs leader at DMACC and followed up his ICCAC career by winning the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year award, unanimously. He led the Big 10 in home runs (24, RBIs (64), slugging percentage (.750) and OPS (1.177). His 73 hits were also tied for the most in the league.

Oliver Basabe (Indian Hills), Jake Scudder (Iowa Western), Devon Perez (Iowa Western), Robbie Glendinning (NIACC), Kyle Thomas (Iowa Lakes) and Hector Quinones (Southeastern) were the other selections of former ICCAC players. 

ICCAC Players Selected in 2017 MLB Draft
RoundPickNameICCAC SchoolMLB Team
3rd91Daniel TilloIowa WesternKansas City Royals
6th181Jake AdamsDMACCHouston Astros
8th228Oliver BasabeIndian HillsSan Diego Padres
16th493Jake ScudderIowa WesternWashington Nationals
19th570Korry HowellKirkwoodKansas City Royals
20th606Keaton WinnIowa WesternSan Francisco Giants
21st625Devon PerezIowa WesternLos Angeles Angels
21st628Robbie GlendinningNIACCPittsburgh Pirates
24th707Anderson DeLeonIowa CentralCincinnati Reds
30th905Kyle ThomasIowa LakesDetroit Tigers
32nd958Hector QuinonesSoutheasternPittsburgh Pirates

*Current ICCAC players in bold